MCC has its say on the controversial run-out of Fakhar Zaman

“Law 41.5.1 states: “It is unfair for any fielder wilfully to attempt, by word or action, to distract, deceive or obstruct either batsman after the striker has received the ball”.

MCC has its say on the controversial run-out of Fakhar Zaman
image: Twitter

MCC has its say on the controversial run-out of Fakhar Zaman.

The run-out of Fakhar Zaman in the 2nd ODI creating a lot of buzz from yesterday. Fakhar Zaman was run-out on 193 and missed his double hundred by just 7 runs in the second ODI of the three-match series.

In the final over, Quinton De Cock showed his ‘fake fielding’ skill as per some claims. The first ball of the final over, Fakhar Zaman drills the ball to long-off and sets for two runs but De Cock acted like the throw was coming at the non-striker end and Fakahr became quiet to relax after seeing Quinton De Cock reaction.

The fans are divided in opinion as some saying De Cock showed his presence of mind and some say he displays ‘ fake fielding’.

South Africa Wicketkeeper Quinton De Cock faces heat for his actions since yesterday. 

The debate is Centered on De Cock whether he intends ‘fake fielding’ to get Fakhar Zaman as the throw was coming to a non-striker end.

In this case, this act of ‘fake fielding’ led to some penalty of runs. In that scenario, the law of 41.5 of the MCC says that Fakhar Zaman would’ve been not out.

 

Read More: Mohammed Siraj thanks Anand Mahindra for a beautiful gift 

 

Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) tweeted about this hot topic and said,

“Law 41.5.1 states: “It is unfair for any fielder wilfully to attempt, by word or action, to distract, deceive or obstruct either batsman after the striker has received the ball”

The MCC further said that it was up to the on-field umpires to take a decision whether a batsman being deceived or the batsman attempt to deceive. If the on-field umpires felt that there was some attempt to deceive the batsman then five penalty runs plus the two runs they ran.

The two on-field umpires Marais Erasmus and Allahudien Palekar didn’t see Fakhar run-out in this way. So they couldn’t punish 5 runs penalty to South Africa.

 

Temba Bavuma reckons it ( De Cock act) as a clever piece of the act.

“You’ve always got to look for ways especially when things are not going your way, got to find ways to turn the momentum around. Quinny did that.

“I don’t think he broke the rules in any kind of way. It was a clever piece of cricket. Maybe some people might criticize it for maybe not being in the spirit of the game. But it was an important wicket for us. Zaman was getting close to our target. Yeah, it was clever from Quinny.” Temba Bavuma said in the post-match conference.

Fakhar Zaman didn’t blame anyone for his run-out and said it was his own fault. The final ODI of the three-match series is scheduled to take place on 7 April at SuperSport Park, Centurion.

 

Suhel Ahmad

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Next Post

South Africa vs Pakistan 3rd ODI live cricket score commentary

Tue Apr 6 , 2021
South Africa vs Pakistan 3rd ODI live cricket score commentary